Cashew Cream Cheese

October 12, 2012

Image

This stuff is really simple, just an extra step on top of yoghurt making. I found a recipe on a blog I like, http://www.yourveganmom.com, which was originally a recipe by Miyoko Schinner, who has written a book on vegan cheesemaking. Yay! Want. Even though I bought the Uncheese Cookbook ages ago and never use it. Still want. Sigh. 

So all you do is soak some (about a cup) cashew nuts in water for a while, blend them up til they’re as creamy as you can get em, then add a pinch of salt, and a tablespoon of yoghurt, then let the mixture sit for anywhere between 8 and 24 hours depending on how warm it is where you are. I left it for 24 hours cos it’s a bit chilly here right now. 

It’s good! I’m not as enthused as Vegan Mom about it, I don’t think it’s very much like dairy cream cheese, or even Tofutti. But I ate it this morning with jam on white toast, and was pretty pleased with that, so pleased that I had it again two hours later. It has the fatty creaminess that I really want in my life quite a lot, so I think I’ll be making it again. And of course it gets mad points for being super wholefoody, probiotic and vegan-proteiny, while seeming super decadent.

 

2 Responses to “Cashew Cream Cheese”


  1. The cheese has to culture for 24 to 72 hours to turn into cream cheese, not 8 to 24. 24 hours is rarely sufficient.

    • asharpknife Says:

      Thanks for that Miyoko! Twas a careless mistake on my behalf, dunno where I got 8 hours from. My 24 hour cream cheese was great and did continue to develop over the next few days in the fridge, but I’ll leave it longer next time then!


Leave a comment